Yang-Baxter Equations: A Tangle of Physics and Mathematics

A workshop on Yang-Baxter equations, braid groups, representation theory, and applications in mathematical physics

The workshop will take place on 2.-3.12.2016 (Friday/Saturday) at

School of Mathematics
Cardiff University
Senghennydd Road
CF24 4AG Cardiff (UK)

room E/2.20

to get to the department from Cardiff central station on foot, see this map. Alternatively, take a taxi.

Organizers: Gandalf Lechner, Ulrich Pennig, Simon Wood

IoP co-organizer:  Roger Behrend

Contact: LechnerG, PennigU, WoodSi at cardiff.ac.uk



Friday, 2.12.2016

  • 14:00-15:00: Paul Martin
                         Temperley-Lieb algebras, representation theory
                         and statistical mechanics
  • coffee break
  • 15:30-16:30: Niall MacKay
                        An Introduction to the Yang-Baxter Equation
  • 19:00: workshop dinner at La Cuina

Saturday, 3.12.2016

  • 10:00-11:00: Christian Korff
                         Yang-Baxter algebras in enumerative combinatorics
                         and geometry I
  • coffee break
  • 11:30-12:30: Christian Korff
                         Yang-Baxter algebras in enumerative combinatorics
                         and geometry II
  • lunch break
  • 13:30-14:30: Daan Krammer
                         Homological representations of braid groups and
                         knot invariants



If you are interested in attending, you are welcome to do so - please inform one of the organizers by email.

  • Andreas Aaserud (Cardiff)
  • Alexander Balinsky (Cardiff)
  • Edwin Beggs (Swansea)
  • Roger Behrend (Cardiff)
  • Olivier Blandeau-Fournier (King's College)
  • Benjamin Bode (Bristol)
  • Tomasz Brzezinski (Swansea)
  • Olalla Castro-Alvaredo (City University of London)
  • Lorenzo De Biase (Cardiff)
  • Benjamin Doyon (King's College)
  • Suresh Eswarathasan (Cardiff)
  • David Evans (Cardiff)
  • David Grabner (King's College)
  • Hassan Izanloo (Cardiff)
  • Christian Korff (Glasgow)
  • Daan Krammer (Warwick)
  • Gandalf Lechner (Cardiff)
  • Niall MacKay (York)
  • Paul Martin (Leeds)
  • Stephen Moore (Cardiff)
  • Timm Oertel (Cardiff)
  • David Palazzo (Glasgow)
  • Ulrich Pennig (Cardiff)
  • Mathew Pugh (Cardiff)
  • Stanislav Stratiev (Swansea)
  • Thomas Timmermann (Münster)
  • Simon Wood (Cardiff)

Funded by the IoP (Institute of Physics) Mathematical and Theoretical Physics Group and the University of Cardiff, School of Mathematics